ISTQB Levels and Modules

Last updated: 1 Feb 2018  |  681 Views  | 

ISTQB Levels and Modules

The new ISTQB® product portfolio follows a Matrix approach characterized by

Levels, that identify progressively increasing LOs

  • Foundation
  • Advanced
  • Expert

Streams, that identify clusters of certification modules

  • Core
  • Agile
  • Specialist
Pre-conditions among certifications

Pre-conditions relate to certification exams and provide a natural progression through the ISTQB® Scheme which helps people pick the right certificate and informs them about what they need to know.

The ISTQB® Core Foundation is a pre-condition for any other certification.

Additional rules for ISTQB® pre-conditions are summarized in the following:
  • Foundation Core shall be required for Advanced Level Core
  • Foundation Core is the default pre-requisite for Foundation Level  Specialist certifications unless differently stated in the specific module; as of date, all Foundation Level Specialist certifications require Foundation Core as a pre-requisite
  • Any Advanced Level  Specialist or Expert Level Specialist module which is linked to a lower level Specialist  module shall require certification at the lower level.
  • Expert Level modules shall require certification at the corresponding Advanced Level .
  • Any Advanced Level  Specialist  module which is not linked to a lower level  Specialist module shall require the Foundations Core as a pre-condition.

Related content

Powered by